National Institute of Technology Rourkela

राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान राउरकेला

ଜାତୀୟ ପ୍ରଯୁକ୍ତି ପ୍ରତିଷ୍ଠାନ ରାଉରକେଲା

An Institute of National Importance

Internal Complaints Committee

Internal Complaints Committee related to Sexual Harassment and Violence against women at their work-place

With the rise of acts of violence and offenses against women in the country in recent times, the issues of women's safety and security has sparked a slew of fresh deliberations in the nation. In the backdrop of this larger debate, with due attention to the facts that there has been a substantial increase of female students and some untoward incidents of offensive behavior towards the women (students, faculty and campus residents) do happen at NIT Rourkela campus, women's safety is both a timely and important issue for NIT Rourkela to deliberate upon.

In pursuance of the direction of the Honrable Supreme Court in VISHAKA and ORS.v. STATE OF RAJASTHAN and ORS. (JT 1997(7) SC 384), the Institute constituted a Standing Committee on Women Cell in 2001 to effectively deal with cases of violence against female students, staff, faculty and campus residents

Presently, this cell functions as the "Internal Complaints Committee" as designated under the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013.

One or more of the following unwelcome acts or behavior (whether directly or by implication) namely:
  • Physical contact or advances; or
  • A demand or request for sexual favours; or
  • Making sexually coloured remarks; or
  • Showing pornography; or
  • Any other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature
The following circumstances, among other circumstances if it occurs or is present in relation to or connected with any act or behavior of sexual harassment may amount to sexual harassment
  • Implied or explicit promise of preferential treatment in her employment; or
  • Implied or explicit threat of detrimental treatment in her employment; or
  • Implied or explicit threat about her present or future employment status; or
  • Interference with her work or creating an intimidating or offensive or
    hostile work or environment for her; or
  • Humiliating treatment likely to affect her health or safety.

This cell undertakes inquiries with regard to complaints of sexual harassment from aggrieved women employees (as defined under the Act, 2013). The complaint is kept totally confidential, and adequate protection is provided to the complainant, where necessary. Complaints are heard expeditiously while adhering to the principles of Natural Justice. Necessary recommendations are provided to the Authority on the basis of the findings of the inquiry.

Where and Whom to Lodge a Complaint

If you are a victim of sexual harassment or perceive yourself to be, immediately contact (personally or through telephone / written request / e-mail)-any of the committee members of the Cell. Alternatively, e-mail can be sent to The complaint and the identity of the complainant will be kept CONFIDENTIAL.

Act, Rules and Procedure

Committee Members

Presiding Officer Prof. Seemita Mohanty Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
 0661 - 246 2692
Member Prof. Sasmita Mohapatra Department of Chemistry
 0661 - 246 2661
Member Prof. Bibekanand Mallick Department of Life Science
 0661 - 246 2685
Member Mrs. Swagatika Sahoo Deputy Registrar (PW)
 0661 - 246 2051
Member Mr. Dibya Kishor Pradhan Assistant Librarian (BPCL)
 0661 - 246 2102
Member Dr. Anjana Maitra OES (Retd.), Head, Political Science
Govt. College Rourkela